Iraq News - Local News - Baghdadpost

Kurdistan parl't announces 5 nominees for president post

Kurdistan Parliament - file photo
The Kurdistan Parliament announced the names of five people who have officially submitted their nomination papers, including Nechirvan Barzani, Omed Abdulsalam, Mohammed Hamasalih, Rebwar Aziz Mustafah, and Hiwa Khidir Abdullah.

Ghayath al-Sorachi of the Patriotic Union of Kurdistan said that the next week will witness the convening of a special session to vote on the post of the president, affirming that the political agreement stipulates voting for the Kurdistan Democratic Party candidate Nechirvan Barzani.

The Kurdistan Regional Government is expected to be formed in mid-June, after the selection of the region's president, said Safeen Dizayee, Kurdistan Regional Government (KRG) Spokesperson.

The names of candidates who applied for the post of the president of the Kurdistan region will be checked, Dizayee said, noting that this process will last for a week.

The Kurdistan Parliament will then vote on the names of the candidates, then the chosen candidate will be sworn in as president, the spokesman said.

After the new president starts his work, he will assign the prime minister to form the new government, Dizayee said, stressing that the prime minister-designate would only be given one month to form the government.

Deputy head of the Kurdistan Regional Government Qubad Talabani will head the government until the new government is formed, added the spokesman.
Last Modified: Monday، 20 May 2019 01:04 AM