Denmark, Australia draw 1-1 in World Cup group match

Denmark, Australia draw 1-1 in World Cup group match
Denmark, Australia draw 1-1 in World Cup group match

A Penalty helped Australia to hold Denmark to 1-1 draw at the FIFA World Cup.


The game between Denmark and Australia began in the 42,000-seater Samara Arena at 15:00 Moscow time (12:00 GMT) on Thursday. Previously, Denmark defeated Peru 1-0, while Australia’s team lost 2-1 against France in the countries’ respective opening matches of the 2018 World.


The teams started the match with strong pressure, with the game quickly escalating as the first goal was scored in the 7th minute by Danish player Christian Eriksen.


Australian captain Mile Jedinak has made a goal, evening the score, after a handball penalty was awarded in 37th minute.


Thus, the first time ended in dead heat.


In the 73rd minute Australian player Andrew Nabbout injured his shoulder and was replaced with Tomi Juric and soon after, in the 82nd minute, Tom Rogic also left the field, letting Jackson Irvine in.


The game ends in tie, 1-1, with the new video assistant referee (VAR) system proving its importance, as the decisive penalty was awarded due to it. According to the statistics, over 41,000 Fans Attended the match in Samara


It remains unclear which teams will advance from group C, as Denmark has difficult game with France ahead. At the moment, after 2 matches Denmark has 4 points and Australia just 1, as it previously lost to the French team, but it still has chances to enter the knockout stage.


France and Peru are set to play later on Thursday, at 18:00 Moscow time (15:00 GMT).

Short Link



No Comments

Add Comment E-mail will not be published. Please fill required fields. *